Carbon Capture Machine Cover Photo

Carbon Capture Machine

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom

About Us

CCM (UK) Ltd is a recently formed spinout company of the University of Aberdeen. We are a research-led CO2 CAPture and CONversion (CAPCON) specialist that will contribute to the global reduction of carbon emissions through the scale-up and commercialisation of a potent, profitable new CAPCON technology and derivative products.

Our technology is patented and uses readily available materials and components. Low capital investment makes the technology peerless.

What we offer is an integrated, optimised CO2 CAPCON technology and products to reduce cost and risk for emitters, offset by new value streams.


Our CAPCON research has led to the development of processes and products that yield high economic value, by (i) replacing other carbon intensive materials and products, and (ii) creating greater value by converting “wastes” into useful products.

The CCMs that are being demonstrated and commercialised through the NRG COSIA Carbon XPrize competition dissolve CO2 flue gas directly into slightly alkaline water, that is then faced with a suitable brine source containing dissolved Ca and Mg (and other) ions as found in connate formation, produced, and other abundantly available waters. A proprietary multi-stage precipitation technology is used to selectively separate and produce nearly insoluble Ca and Mg carbonate minerals that have useful properties, and hence commercial value in existing established and new markets.


Professor Zoe Morrison BA, MSc, MCIM, FHEA, PhD is founding director and COO of CCM (UK) Ltd. Zoe is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Marketing. Her remit includes all aspects of the marketing mix, ranging from commercial feasibility studies, new product and services development, strategic marketing plans for the technology and products, marketing planning and communications. She oversees the option appraisal for the commercialisation of the CCM proposition, including partnerships and related governance arrangements, upscaling technology production, strategic marketing plans, communications and public relations. 


Zoe Morrison, Fred Glasser, Waheed Afzal, Fred Stevenson-Robb, Jeremy Kilburn, Tom Horne, Nan Pragot, Roneta Holland, Sen Wang.